Galway Athletics

arrowHome arrow News arrow Wonderful Performances at Galway Juvenile Cross Country
Main Menu
Wonderful Performances at Galway Juvenile Cross Country PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Monday, 02 October 2006
The first day of the County Cross-country championships for juvenile athletes took place at the weekend in Dangan. The competition was strong, particularly in the younger juvenile races where large numbers of athletes took part.

The U11 girls were the first to be called to the start line, with their 800m race commencing at 1pm. Ballinasloe AC put in an impressive performance taking the top three places and the team gold with their team and finishing positions 1 Annie May Bourne, 2 Michelle Burke, 3 Veronica Burke and 23 Sinead Fahy, giving them a team score of 29 points. Craughwell AC took the team silver medals with Claire Ryder 5th, Sarah Molloy 6th, Ailbhe Greaney 8th, Dearbhla Maloney 10th, Gabrielle Tobin 11th, Sinead Treacy and Tara Keady. GCH took the bronze medals with their team of Laura Ann Costello 4th, Roisin Dobey 9th, Alice Meagher 12th, Ciana Curran 15th and Niamh Moreton. In the U11 800m, fine running from Colm Hughes (GCH) saw him take the individual gold, with Ballinasloe duo Conor Payne and Ian Fletcher in 2nd and 3rd place. These high placing were good enough to see the Ballinasloe team take the team gold in 20 points, with the scoring completed by Donnacha O'Reilly in 7th place and Noel Cotton in 8th, followed home by teammates Colin Cotton (10) and Enda Donnelly (16). Craughwell AC took the team silver with 31 points - Matthew Freaney 4th, Cathal Reidy 6th, Bryan Concannon 9th, Matthew Moran 12th, Davy Kerse 13th and Aidan Conneely 14th. The bronze medals went to GCH with 40 points - 1 C Hughes, 5 Mark Rohan, 11 Tomas Donovan, 23 Eoin Lally, 24 Oisin Cunningham, 26 Alex Murphy.

The U13 girls 1000m was up next where Linda Porter (Craughwell AC) and Sive Brassill (Ballinasloe AC) battled it out for the top 2 positions, with the Ballinasloe athlete shading it in the end. Marie Touhy (Athenry AC) took the bronze medal and in the process led her club to team gold with a score of 35 points and finishing positions 5 Letitica Collins, 11 Orlaith McGrath, 16 Aine Lydon, 21 Tara Murphy, 22 Hannah Kindregan. Craughwell AC took the silver medals with 36 points (2 Linda Porter, 8 Laura Porter, 9 Orla McDaid, 14 Maria McNamara, 17 Muireann Maloney, 19 Caoimhe Quill, 20 Orla Ryan). GCH took the bronze medals with 38 points (4 Ruth O'Sullivan, 7 Emma Johnson, 12 Deirdre Lally, 15 Fiona O'Connor, 18 Eithne Nic Aodha Bhui). The boys U13 1200m was an almost all Craughwell affair, with David Concannon taking the individual gold and Paul McGill taking the bronze. GCH's Shane Fahey took the silver. Craughwell AC took both the team gold and team silver with 22 points and 32 points. The team finishing positions 1 D Concannon, 3 P McGill, 5 Paul Joyce, 7 David Farrell, 8 Patrick Prendergast, 9 James Greaney, 10 Paul Fitzpatrick, 11 PJ Kelly, 12 Cathal Coppinger, 13 Ross Haverty, 15 Cillian Reidy.

A large field particpated in the girls U15 1500m where Rachel Shaw (GCH) took gold over the tough 1-lap circuit, followed by Rachel Finnegan (Craughwell AC) and Eimear Hanahoe (GCH). GCH claimed the team gold with a score of 23 points (1 R Shaw, 3 E Hannahoe, 6 Niamh Walsh, 13 Kristine Carr, 17 Lisa Geraghty, 18 Sarah Johnson), with Ballinasloe taking the silver with a score of 26 points (4 Claire Burke, 5 Maeve Brassil, 7 Lorna Payne, 10 Chantal Muldoon, 11 Ellen O'Beirn, 23 Orlagh Fahy) and Craughwell AC in 3rd place with 45 points (2 R Finnegan, 12 Sophie Ralston, 15 Ashley McDonnell, 16 Maeve Curley, 20 Noreen Murphy). The boys U15 2000m produced a real battle at the front between Conor Caulfield (Athenry) and Ronan Conlon (GCH). For a long time during the race, it looked like Conlon would take the honours having built a 10m lead in the first 1000m. Towards the closing stages of the race, the more experienced Caulfield closed the gap and took the lead to win in style. Jack Larkin (GCH) took the bronze slot, clinching the team gold along with teammates Sean Disken 4th, Ryan Harrington in 5th, Alan Campbell 6th and Stephen Connolly 8th. Athenry AC took the team silver with their scoring completed by Kevin Madden in 7th, Conor Kindregan 11th and Cathal Hardiman in 12th.

Smaller numbers contested the U17 races. The girls 2000m was won by Nicola O'Ceallaigh (GCH), with Laura Shaughnessy (Loughrea AC) 2nd and Ali Burke (Ballinasloe) 3rd. David McDonnell (Ballinasloe) saw victory in the boys 4000m, with Ciaran Treacy (Portumna) 2nd and Michael McDonagh (GCH) 3rd.

Full results are available on this Website at

Next event on the cross-country scene is the Connacht Primary Schools Championships in Ballina at noon on 7th October and the Galway juvenile even ages and senior categories in the Palace Grounds in Tuam on 15th October at 1pm. A new format has been adopted for the senior championships this year - the novice, intermediate, masters and senior races will be amalgamated into one race, with the intended effect of creating a mass participation event. There will be just 1 team competion in this race, while the 4 categories will exist for the individual competition. It is hoped that most adult runners in the county affiliated to an AAI club will come out and support the event. The race is also open to club runners from outside Galway, although the championship medals are closed to Galway athletes.





Last Updated ( Wednesday, 04 October 2006 )
< Prev   Next >
© 2020
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.