Galway Athletics

arrowHome arrow News arrow Palace Grounds provides difficult cross-country challenge
Main Menu
Palace Grounds provides difficult cross-country challenge PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Tuesday, 17 October 2006

The Palace Grounds in Tuam played host to the Galway Senior Cross-Country Championships at the weekend, along with the even juvenile age groups. The hilly terrain provided a difficult and challenging 8k for the senior men’s race which had its highest number of participants in many years.

After six and half gruelling laps, Athenry AC’s Paul McNamara had built up a commanding lead and won by a considerable margin, leading his team-mates to victory in the team event also. The rest of the field were bunched more tightly, with Robert Malseed from Clonliffe Harriers running as a guest and taking 2nd place and Loughrea AC junior Jason Broderick taking 3rd place overall. Full results of the various categories were as follows. Senior Men 8000m: 1 Paul McNamara (Athenry AC), 2 Ruadhri Geraghty (GCH), 3 Ian Egan (GCH); Teams: 1 Athenry AC 29 pts (1,7,9,12), 2 GCH 36 pts (4,5,13,14), 3 Loughrea AC 37 pts (3,8,11,15). Junior: 1 Jason Broderick (Loughrea AC). Masters: 1 TJ Whyte (Tuam AC), 2 Martin Corcoran (Loughrea AC), 3 Peter Delmer (Athenry AC). Novice: 1 Brian O'Connor (Athenry AC), 2 Ronan O'Flynn (Castlegar AC), 3 Alan Burke (Athenry AC). Intermediate: 1 B O’Connor, 2 P Delmer, 3 Dara O'Brien (Loughrea AC).


In the senior women’s race, Jane Ann Healy from Naas AC competing as a guest took 1st place, followed by Anne Marie Hynes-Miskell (GCH) and Anne Burke (Ballinasloe & District AC). Results of the various Championship categories in the women’s race were: Senior Women 3000m: 1 Anne Marie Hynes-Miskell (GCH), 2 Síle Burke (Portumna AC), 3 Bernie Kelly (GCH). Teams: 1 Tuam AC 30 pts (6,7,8,9). Junior: 1 Nicola O'Ceallaigh (GCH), 2 Caoimhe Daniels (GCH), 3 Laura Shaughnessy (Loughrea AC). Masters: 1 Anne Burke (Ballinasloe & District AC), 2 Andrea Ridge (Tuam AC), 3 Patricia Monaghan (Tuam AC). Novice: 1 Andrea Ridge (Tuam AC).


Full results of the senior and junior races are at 2006GalwayXCountrySenior.pdf.


The juvenile races provided plenty of competition with upwards of 40 athletes competing in some of the races. Results were as follows.

U10 Boys 500m: 1 Conor Payne (Ballinasloe & District AC), 2 Colin Cotton (do), 3 Aidan Conneely (Craughwell AC). U12 Boys 1000m: 1 Eoin McCormack (Ballinasloe & District AC), 2 Eamonn Brannigan (GCH), 3 Jack Raftery (Craughwell AC). Teams: 1 Craughwell AC 'A' 19 pts (3,4,5,7), 2 Craughwell AC 'B' 40 pts (6,8,12,14). U14 Boys 1500m: 1 Conor O'Brien (Portumna AC), 2 Richard Commins (GCH), 3 Micheal Hannon (Craughwell AC). Teams: 1 Craughwell AC 18 pts (3,4,5,6), 2 GCH 38 pts (2,9,13,14). U16 Boys 3000m: 1 Conor Caulfield (Athenry AC), 2 David Gow (GCH), 3 Sean Diskin (GCH). U18 Boys 5000m: 1 Diarmuid Moloney (Tuam AC).

U10 Girls 500m: 1 Laura Ann Costello (GCH), 2 Meabh Brannigan (do), 3 Tara McNally (Craughwell AC). U12 Girls 1000m: 1 Marie Touhy (Athenry AC), 2 Orlaith McGrath (do), 3 Laura Porter (Craughwell AC). Teams: 1 Ballinasloe & District AC 27 pts (4,6,8,9), 2 Athenry AC 28 pts (1,2,10,15), 3 Craughwell AC 34 pts (3,5,12,14). U14 Girls 1200m: 1 Claire Burke (Ballinasloe & District AC), 2 Lorna Payne (do), 3 Ashley McDonnell (Craughwell AC). Teams: 1 Ballinasloe & District AC 23 pts (1,2,6,14), 2 Craughwell AC 26 pts (3,4,7,12). U16 Girls 2000m: 1 Irene Gorman (GCH), 2 Rachel Finnegan (Craughwell AC), 3 Anna Shelton (GCH). Teams: 1 GCH 17 pts (1,3,5,8), 2 Athenry AC 49 pts (7,9,15,18). U18 Girls 3000m: 1 Nicola O'Ceallaigh (GCH), 2 Caoimhe Daniels (do), 3 Laura Shaughnessy (Loughrea AC).

Full results of the juvenile races are at 2006GalwayJuvenileDay2.pdf.

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 17 October 2006 )
< Prev   Next >
© 2020
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.