Galway Athletics

arrowHome arrow News arrow 2013 Galway Primary Schools Cross Country
Main Menu
2013 Galway Primary Schools Cross Country PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Thursday, 19 September 2013

Hopefully all interested schools have received postal or email notification of the forthcoming Galway Primary Schools Cross Country which is on next Tuesday 24th September in Renmore.

As many of you know, the event has become a victim of its own success over the last few years with huge growth in participation and some resultant safety concerns at the start and finish of the races. Last year over 1300 finished the races, a 30% increase on the previous year.

Such large participation is fantastic for the sport and adds to the excitement of the day. In order to handle the numbers better, this year the event has been split into semi-finals and finals.

The semi-finals will comprise a West Division and East Division who will both compete in their respective semi-finals on Tuesday 24th September in Renmore. The West Division races will take place first at 11.00am sharp, followed by the East Division at 12.30pm. It is estimated that it will take approximately 1 hour to run off each set of races. The races will take place in the following order for each Division:-

  • 3rd/4th Class Girls 800m
  • 3rd/4th Class Boys 800m
  • 5th/6th Class Girls 1000m
  • 5th/6th Class Boys 1000m
The top 30 individuals in each of the 8 races will be awarded medals, all of whom will qualify for the finals which will be held the following Saturday 28th September at 2.30pm in the grounds of Loughrea Athletic Club at Bushfield (along the Loughrea-Bullaun road). Additionally, the top 5 teams from each Division will qualify for the same finals as above. The names of these schools will be published on this Website on the evening of that Tuesday 24th September and also notified by email. No team medals are awarded in the semi-finals - just the individual medals to the top 30 individuals.
Note that if a school team qualifies for the finals, it is permitted to change the team members if necessary on the day of the finals. The name change should be provided when checking in your team and getting your race numbers - so that the name can be accurately recorded in the results.
After the results of the Galway finals are calculated, the top 3 teams from each of the 4 races will go onto the Connacht finals, as well as all individual medalists (all finishing in the top 15 are awarded medals as well as the top 3 teams). The Connacht finals will be held at 1pm on Saturday 12th October in Longford. Travel directions will be added here as soon as they are available.
The following is the split of the county into a West and East Division for the county semi-finals in Renmore. The intention is to split the county roughly evenly based on an examination of last years entries. The dividing line is approximately on or near the Limerick-Sligo road and west of that road. If your school is not listed below, please confirm with James Lundon (the competition secretary) as to which Division your school is in - as that will affect the time you need to arrive for the races. You should allow an hour between arriving and the start of your race. Likewise if your school is listed in the incorrect division due to poor knowledge on our part, please advise and we will correct!
Read on for the details of the 2 divisions. 

West Division

Belmont NS, Cloghan's Hill
Cholmcille Naofa, Castlegar
Educate Together, Kilcolgan
Gaelscoil Dara, Renmore
Gaelscoil de hÍde, Oran Mór
Labane NS
Lurga NS
Ros Muc
Scoil Bhríde, Menlo
Scoil Chaitríona Senior, Renmore
Scoil Éinde, Bothar Na Tra
Scoil Fhursa, Nile Lodge
Scoil Íognáid, Bothar Na Sliogan
Scoil Iosaif Naofa, Oranmore
Scoil Mhic Dara, Carraroe
Scoil Mhuire, Clarinbridge
Scoil Mhuire, Oranmore
Scoil na hAirde
Scoil Róis, Taylors Hill
Scoil San Phroinias, Tirellan
Scoil Shéamais Naofa, Bearna
St. Brendan's, Annaghdown
St. Joseph's, Kinvara
St. Nicholas', Claddagh
St. Partick's, Lombard St.



East Division


Annagh Boys NS, Ballyglunin
Annagh Girls NS, Ballyglunin 
Athenry Boys
Attymon NS 
Ballyglass NS
Caltra NS
Cappataggle NS 
Carrabane NS
Carnaun NS 
Castleblakeney NS
Crumlin NS
Eyrecourt NS
Gaelscoil Ballinasloe
Gaelscoil Riabhach, Loughrea
Gaelscoil Riada, Athenry
Kilchreest NS 
Leitrim NS, Loughrea
Newtown NS, Abbeyknockmoy
Scoil an Chroí Naofa, Ballinasloe
Scoil Bhride, New Inn
Scoil Chroí Naofa, Athenry
Scoil Eanna, Bullaun
Scoil Mhuire, Clonberne
Scoil Pádraig Naofa, Cregmore
Scoil Uí Cheithearnaigh, Ballinasloe
St Brendan's Boys NS, Loughrea
St. Augustine's, Clontuskert
St. Catherine's, Aughrim
St. Ita's, Loughrea 
Last Updated ( Monday, 23 September 2013 )
< Prev   Next >
© 2022
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.