Galway Athletics

Main Menu
Login Form

Lost Password?
Mayo AC take the honours in Claregalway 10k PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Monday, 21 August 2006

There was a big turnout for the Claregalway 10k road race at the weekend, which also incorporated the 2006 Galway AAI 10k Road Championships.

In the open Senior Men's race, Mayo AC were dominant - winning both the individual and team titles, with John Byrne recording an excellent time of 32.20 to lead his team to gold with teammates Paddy Murray (3rd 34.28), Billy Gallagher (9th 35.39) and Hugh Duffy (10th 36.04).

In the open Senior Women's race, Galway City Harriers recorded a convincing victory in both individual and team events - Ann Marie Miskell taking the individual gold in a time of 40.24 followed by teammates Tara Whyte (4th 44.52) and Bernie Kelly (5th 45.44).

The Galway 10k Championships were dominated by Loughrea AC in the men's event and Galway City Harriers in the women's race.

Jason Broderick continued his impressive form to lead Loughrea AC to the title in a time of 33.39 with teammates Martin Corcoran in 2nd (34.44), Darragh O'Brien 16th (36.40) and John Mannion 19th (37.16). Broderick also took the individual title, with Corcoran taking the silver and Athenry's Brian O'Connor taking bronze in a time of 34.58. Athenry took the silver medals in the team event with Clare River Harriers in bronze position.

Galway City Harriers recorded a 1-2-3 in the Galway Senior Women's 10k race, with the same trio that took the team title in the open race - Ann Marie Miskell, Tara Whyte and Bernie Kelly.

Full results of what was a very successful event can be viewed here.

Last Updated ( Thursday, 24 August 2006 )
< Prev   Next >
© 2022
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.