Galway Athletics

Main Menu
Login Form

Lost Password?
Results of Connacht Primary Schools Cross Country PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Well done to all the Galway participants in the Connacht Primary Schools cross country last Saturday in Sligo. Amidst very tough racing conditions, the Galway athletes did their schools and county proud with some exceptional performances.

Killeeneen's Niamh Niland won the Connacht title in the Junior Girls 800m with Claregalway's Shauna Brennan placing 8th and leading her team to the gold medals and Craughwell's Ailbhe Miskella placing 12th and leading her team to the bronze medals.Tirellan's Niamh McPeak also had a fine run with a 9th place finish.

Killeeneen's Phelim McCann won the individual silver in the Junior Boys 800m with Oranmore Boys' Sean Cannon directly behind to take the individual bronze. Ardrahan's Eoin Murphy 8th and Oisin McMahon 15th also had fine runs, as had Riain O'Ceallaigh from Scoil Iognaid, Bothar na Sliogan who placed 11th.

New Inn's Arlene Earls had a fine victory in the Senior Girls 1000m and in the process led her team to a convincing victory with Aisling Kenny and Siobhan McGrath also placing in the top 15. Craughwell NS upped their performance from the Galway championships to take the bronze medals, led home by Jane Trehy in 15th place. Carnmore's Laura Nally also had a strong run with an 11th place finish.

Clarinbridge's Oisin Lyons had a fine run in the Senior Boys 1000m to take individual 3rd place while Oranmore Boys regained their Connacht title in this race, led home by Conor Lorghain in 5th place. Lisheenkyle's Mark O'Brien also had a strong run to place 11th, as had Renmore's Brian Flattery 14th and Cregmore's Dylan Walsh 15th. While technically a Roscommon school but most of their athletes from Galway, Creagh in Ballinasloe continued their fine tradition in this race with Shane Jennings placing 2nd and leading his team to silver medals.

Full results of the races are at:

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 23 October 2012 )
< Prev   Next >
© 2022
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.