Galway Athletics

arrowHome arrow News arrow The Loughrea 5 Miler and Fun Run
Main Menu
The Loughrea 5 Miler and Fun Run PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Sunday, 17 October 2004

On Sunday last, a huge crowd of athletes and spectators descended on the town of Loughrea for the annual 5-mile road race. The afternoon got off to a fantastic start with a hive of activity at 1pm when over 150 children between the ages of 4 and 15 took to the streets for the 1-mile fun run. For some, it was just this - a fun run around the streets of Loughrea. For the leading bunch of boys and girls, it turned out to be a competitive venture with some fine performances from the leading athletes.

The top 3 girls and top 3 boys were as follows. Girls: 1 Rachel Finnegan, Craughwell; 2 Fiona Fitzgibbon, Oranmore; 3 Linda Porter, Craughwell. Boys: 1 Damien Larkin, Portumna; 2 Christopher Starr, Portumna; 3 Martin Hodgins, Loughrea.

Next it was down to very serious business in the senior race as over 450 athletes, joggers and walkers lined up for the main event. From the start, the leading bunch of Noel Berkley, Jerry Ryan, Dermot Galvin and Gearoid O’Connor broke away – with this group taking the top spots in the finishers. First local man across the finish line was John Mannion and first local lady was Claire Beatty.

Full results were as follows: Senior Men: 1 Noel Berkley, DSD, 23.57; 2 Jerry Ryan, GCH, 24.00; 3 Dermot Galvin, St. Johns, Clare; 4 Gearoid O’Connor, Rathfarnham; 5 Martin Bradshaw, Bilboa; 6 Dave Byrne, Liffey Valley. O/40 Men: 1 Martin Corcoran, Loughrea; 2 Danny Carr, GCH; 3 Michael Clancy, Sligo. O/45 Men: 1 Michael O’Shea, Iveragh; 2 Gearoid Coy, Kent AC, UK; 3 Martin Halvey. O/50 Men: 1 Owen Mongan, Mayo AC. O/55 Men: 1 Tom Hunt, Mayo; 2 TJ Beatty, Loughrea. O/60 Men: 1 Brian Geraghty, GCH; 2 David Condon, Limerick; 3 Roger Rush, Tuam AC.

Senior Ladies: 1 Pauline Curley, Tullamore AC, 27.31; 2 Kathryn Casserly, Castlegar AC; 3 Ann Lennon, Mayo AC; 4 Fionnuala Keane, Loughrea AC; 5 Breege Blehein-McHale, Mayo AC; 6 Veronica Colleran, Ennis Track. O/35 Ladies: 1 Philomena Gallagher, Tir Conaill; 2 Annette Keane, Loughrea AC. O/40 Ladies: 1 Mary Naylor, Mayo AC; 2 Hannah Kelly, GCH. O/45 Ladies: 1 Maura Falsey, Kilmurray Ibrickane; 2 Bernie Kelly, GCH. O/50 Ladies: 1 Carmel MacDomhnaill, West Limerick.

The race organisers were delighted with a very successful day that was made possible by the competitors, the race sponsors, the Gardai, the Civil Defence, stewards and the local ladies who supplied tea and sandwiches for everyone.


< Prev   Next >
© 2021
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.