Galway Athletics

arrowHome arrow News arrow Day 2 of Connacht Cross Country
Main Menu
Day 2 of Connacht Cross Country PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michael Tobin   
Sunday, 07 November 2004
Over 400 athletes took part in Dangan at the weekend in the 2nd day of the Connacht Cross-Country Championships for Intermediate/Masters men/women and for the Juvenile U12, U14, U16 and U18 age groups. The standard of competition was top class across all of the age groups and many of the leading individuals and teams will be going forward as serious medal contenders to the National Finals in Mullingar on 12th December.


Sligo AC and Mayo AC came out on top in the Intermediate and Masters events, while Galway were the dominant county in the juvenile events - winning 3 individual Connacht titles in the U12 girls, U12 boys and U14 girls events and 5 team titles in the U12 boys and girls, U14 boys and girls and U16 girls. The Galway clubs were particularly strong in the U12 and U14 age groups, with 2 of the top 3 individuals and number 1 team in each race.

In the Intermediate Men 10k, Athenry AC finished in 2nd place with 30 pts, behind Sligo AC with 10 pts. Athenry scorers were Peter Delmer, Mick Rice, Paul Hehir and Gary Doherty. Sligo AC took a clean sweep of the individual medals with Alan Kelly, Neal Higgins and Brian Kilgallon taking the top 3 spots. Sligo AC repeated this success in the Intermediate Women 4k, with Eimear O’Brien, Deirdre Hopkins and Zola Flynn taking the first 3 positions and also the team event.

In the Masters Men 7k, Claregalway’s Clare River Harriers took 2nd place with Andrew Talbot, Tom Kilgariff, Colman Green and Terry Grogan. Mayo AC won the team event, with Dominic Regan and Hugh Duffy taking the gold and silver – followed by Martin Corcoran from Loughrea in 3rd position, TJ Whyte from Tuam in 4th and Danny Carr of Galway City Harriers in 5th. Not to be outdone, Mayo AC ladies took first place in the Masters Women 4k, with Bredge Blehein, Angela O’Connor and Josephine Macken taking the top 3 positions. Sligo AC followed them in 2nd place with 22 pts.

Individual results in the Juvenile races were as follows. U12 Girls: 1 Claire Burke, Ballinasloe; 2 Sarah Helebert, Craughwell; 3 Fionula Mulroy, Swinford. U12 Boys: 1 Micheál Hannon, Craughwell; 2 Conor Daly, Ballinasloe; 3 Ned Plunkett, Ballinamore. U14 Girls: 1 Irene Gorman, Galway City Harriers; 2 Rachel Shaw, Athenry; 3 Aisling Moyles, Ballina. U14 Boys: Daniel McNicholas, Castlebar; 2 Ciaran Treacy, Portumna; 3 Darragh McCormack, Ballinasloe. U16 Girls: 1 Pamela Hughes, Westport; 2 Aoife Kilgallen, Calry; 3 Nicola O'Ceallaigh, Galway City Harriers. U16 Boys: 1 Kevin Loftus, Ballina; 2 Tommy Carroll, North Sligo; 3 Owen Rowan, North Sligo. U18 Girls: 1 Elaine Scally, Lough Ree; 2 Michelle Naughton, Borders Ramblers; 3 Nora McMahon, Galway City Harriers. U18 Boys: 1 Thomas McBride, North Sligo; 2 Raymond Byrne, Sligo; 3 Michael O'Malley, Border Ramblers.

The Juvenile team events were hotly contested with only a handful of places separating the first two teams in most races. Craughwell put in a fine performance to clinch the Connacht title in both the boys and girls U12 races. Galway took a clean sweep of the U14 girls team events, with Athenry leading the way in first place. Galway City Harriers won the U14 boys and U16 girls team events, with very stiff competition in the U14 boys from Mayo clubs. Galway was also triumphant in the inter-county events for the following age groups – U12 boys, U14 girls, U14 boys and U16 girls.

Full details of the team results are as follows: U12 Girls 1 Craughwell 48 pts (2 Sarah Helebert, 14 Ashley McDonnell, 15 Laura Mitchell, 17 Linda Porter, Síomha McGarry, Kate Bryan); 2 Ballinamore 54 pts (8,10,13,23); 3 Castlebar 61pts (4,7,24,26). U12 Boys: 1 Craughwell 51 pts (1 Micheál Hannon, 6 David Concannon, 19 John Kerse, 25 Jason Kennedy, Niall Rooney, Aidan Jennings); 2 Ballina 57pts (4,13,16,24); 3 Swinford 71pts (5,7,22,37). U14 Girls: 1 Athenry 27pts (2 Rachel Shaw, 4 Aoife Touhy, 9 Katelyn Duane, 12 Rebecca Nolan, Aisling Killilea, Deirdre Coffey); 2 Galway City Harriers 34 pts (1 Irene Gorman, 8 Fiona Fitzgibbon, 11 Carol O’Donnell, 14 Laura Madden, Anna Shelton, Niamh Walsh); 3 Craughwell 82 pts (5 Rachel Finnegan, 16 Yasmine Tobin, 29 Cathriona Farrell, 32 Rebecca Helebert, Kelly O’Donoghue, Sophie Ralston). U14 Boys: 1 Galway City Harriers 60 pts (7 Michael Evans, 12 Davis Gow, 20 Alan Campbell, 21 Ryan Harrington, Seamus O’Conghaile); 2 Castlebar 63 pts (1,9,26,27); 3 Ballina 68 pts (8,14,22,24). U16 Girls: 1 Galway City Harriers 20 pts (3 Nicola O’Ceallaigh, 4 Julianne Harrington, 6 Caoimhe Daniels, 7 Orla Fahy, Jennifer O’Donnell). U16 Boys: 1 North Sligo 30 pts (2,3,12,15); 2 Ballina 39 pts (1,8,14,16). U18 Girls: 1 North Sligo 35 pts (6,8,10,11).



< Prev   Next >
© 2021
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.